Seasons for Healing

Seasons for Healing is a culturally appropriate small group education program for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander adults who are managing experiences of change, loss and grief.

The program was developed by Good Grief in partnership with Aboriginal Family Support Services (SA) with funding provided by the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Healing Foundation.

Seasons for Healing is offered in response to requests from Aboriginal communities for respectful, collaborative support in responding to the impact of intergenerational loss and grief.

Seasons for Healing draws on the story of the seasons to talk about experiences of change, loss and grief.  The differences between seasons, the changes in seasons from year to year and their cyclical nature are all part of the story of the seasons, and this shared story allows people to learn and reflect on their own life experiences in a safe and familiar context.

The four seasons each link to one of J. William Worden's (4th ed, 2009) four tasks of grief:

*   Accept the reality of the loss

*   Process the pain of grief

*   Adjust to a world without the person/place/thing

*   Find an enduring connnection with what has been lost in the midst of embarking on life

NALAG is a certified provider and companion trainer of Seasons for Healing, on behalf of Good Grief.

Image by Good Grief

Image by Good Grief

Program Dates




Phone: 02 6882 9222

NSW Head Office:

7 Welchman Street

Dubbo NSW 2830


  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Instagram

(c) 2019 National Association for Loss and Grief (NSW) Inc. ABN 15 910 650 287

Terms, Conditions and Privacy Policy